September 2010 Update Bulletin – Oracle Changes

Today it was released the September’s Update Bulletin to the Oracle texts and rules. You can read the whole bulletin at the official page here. But basically, if I’m not mistaken, the only important change that this update brings is the new text for Transmute Artifact.

DCI! You FAILed me!

Transmute Artifact is the only MtG card that includes the word “Fail(s)” on it. That needed to be changed and they’ve corrected it to work correctly. Transmute Artifact has become a lot better card with the new wording as now you don’t need to sacrifice the artifact as an additional cost to play the card. If you successfully cast it, then you sacrifice and pay the difference.

This is how it reads now:

“Sacrifice an artifact. If you do, search your library for an artifact card. If that card’s converted mana cost is less than or equal to the sacrificed artifact’s converted mana cost, put it onto the battlefield. It it’s greater, you may pay {oX}, where X is the difference. If you do, put it onto the battlefield. If you don’t, put it into its owner’s graveyard. Then shuffle your library.”

Notice that you can actually transmute any artifact even though you can’t pay the difference. In that case you put the new artifact into the graveyard (Welder anyone?). The other changes to the Oracle and rules aren’t that relevant to eternal or gameplay in general.