Old School Player’s Ball 2018, presented by Lords of the Pit and Eternal Central

The Lords of the Pit and Eternal Central are proud to announce the second annual Old School Player’s Ball, a charity Old School Magic 93-94 event in Chicago, on Saturday August 25 2018.

Tournament Entry and Prizes

The second annual Old School Player’s Ball 93-94 tournament will be held on Saturday, August 25 2018.
– Tournament start time is 12pm (venue opens at 12pm; please arrive on time to sign prizes and get started promptly).
– Tournament structure and length will be SWISS PLUS 1. This event will be capped at 88 players, which normally calls for 7 rounds, so this will be 7+1 (a total of 8) total 50 minute rounds of Swiss. There will be no draws allowed, and at the end of 50 minutes if there is a tied match both players will do a sudden death Chaos Orb flipping contest (complete details in our Old School 93-94 rules here). Play a fun deck, imbibe, and have a blast with friends new and old!

Decklists, Pairings, and Social Media

Decklists are required for this event, and by decklists we mean a clear photo of your deck + sideboard. Please send all decklist photos to decklists@eternalcentral.com BEFORE the event begins.
– The official hashtag on Twitter and Facebook for this event will be #oldschoolplayersball, so please use that when snapping pics and updates from the event.


Prizes will be awarded by Lords of the Pit and Eternal Central, and will be Old School cards in flavor and nature. As usual, this is a tournament for fun, and not ‘EV,’ and these will not pay off your monthly bills.
– Tournament prizes will be continue to evolve, and we will be awarding fewer prizes for tournament finish, and more prizes for Most Creative Decks and the like. The Most Creative Deck category will focus on players who focus on the fun and creative aspects of deckbuilding.

Tournament Site Logistics & Preregistration (Required)

– This event is an unsanctioned casual event, and the venue for Old School Player’s Ball 2018 is:
Revolution Brewing Tap Room
3340 N Kedzie Ave.
Chicago, IL 60618

We have ample space reserved for player’s at the awesome Revolution Brewing Tap Room, in Chicago. Revolution’s exceptional craft beers will be on tap all day and night. The tap room does not have a kitchen, but many great local restaurants deliver, and it is “bring your own food” (BYOF). Please be respectful of the venue, the cards, and the people around you, or you will be asked to leave (and unwelcome at future events). Old School is predicated on treating others with respect, and enjoying the people you play with. Don’t take yourself too seriously, or you’re doing it wrong.

Entry fee will be a non-refundable $20 this year, with all proceeds donated to After School Matters, a non-profit organization that provides life-changing after-school and summer program opportunities to more than 15,000 Chicago high school teens each year.
– This tournament is open to all participants 21+ years of age, but you must register to get your ticket here. This year’s event will have a hard cap of 88 players, so if you plan to attend, please get pre-registered ASAP to reserve your space. UPDATE 08-21-2018: We are fully through the Wait List and now have 1-2 seats available, so register to get your ticket here.

Preregistered Players
1. Bob Agra (IL)
2. Jaco (IL)
3. Rohr (IL)
4. Ron Longhi (IL)
5. Andrea Longhi (IL)
6. Matt Sharp (IL)
7. Michael Russo (MN)
8. Robert Vincent (WI)
9. Michael Butzen (WI)
10. Dave Firth Bard (MA)
11. Chris Bergeson (IL)
12. Matt S (IL)
13. Shane Semmens (IL)
14. Bill Schriver (IL)
15. Bryan Manolakos (NJ)
16. Mike VanDyke (CA)
17. Winston Wood (TX)
18. Jared Doucette (MA)
19. Carter Petray (IL)
20. Brendon Bowersox (TN)
21. Zach Bowersox (TN)
22. Cam Wall (OR)
23. Danny Dunaway (WI)
24. Grant Castleton (IL)
25. Tom Hagen (MI)
26. Dominic Dotterrer (CA)
27. Greg Kotscharjan (IL)
28. Brandon Sanders (IL)
29. Tyler Etters (IL)
30. Benjermin Perry (MI)
31. Charlie H (IL)
32. Matthew Braun (IL)
33. Derek Walker (TN)
34. Matt Moss (IL)
35. Danny Friedman (IL)
36. Eliot Davidoff (CA)
37. Mith (CA)
38. Lorien Elleman (IL)
39. Ben Wagnon (MA)
40. Jason Paul (IL)
41. Paul Fiero (MI)
42. Curt Christian (TX)
43. James Tork (WI)
44. Dan Rech (WI)
45. Chris Mason (NH)
46. David Velasco (IL)
47. Josh Burgoa (TN)
48. Cayce Grissom (TN)
49. Andrew McLennan (MI)
50. Frank P (IL)
51. Adem Hotza (IL)
52. Nicholas Dickerson (MI)
53. Kyle Houtman (IL)
54. Matt Thompson (WI)
55. Enrique Flores (IL)
56. Mark Brothers (TX)
57. Shane Mott (NY)
58. Nicholas Batista (DE)
59. Stevi Shively (MN)
60. Sam Krohlow (WI)
61. Brian Fisher (IL)
63. Rajah James (OH)
64. Stephen Maldonado (WI)
65. Robert Westergaard (NJ)
66. West (CA)
67. Dan Ersch (TX)
68. Joe Reuschel (PA)
69. Chris Wynes (MO)
70. Jon Hammack (OK)
71. Brian Jones (IL)
72. Ian Blank (IL)
73. Will Magrann (PA)
74. Ray Mattson (IL)
75. Marcos Quilantan Luna (MI)
76. Krishna James (OH)
77. Stephen Preston (VA)
78. Erik Swanson (IL)
79. Robert Matthews (MI)
80. Sean Robbins (WI)
81. Jake Wise (IL)
82. Dustin Brossard (MN)
83. Dan Piquard (IL)
84. Jimmy Cooney (MD)
85. Matt Hahn (IL)
86. Marland Moore (MI)
87. Adam Merkado-Weiss (NY)
88. Steve Sasala (OH)